Indie News

Louis Tomlinson Evokes His Live Shows on Anthemic New Single ‘Bigger Than Me’

Louis Tomlinson has teased his forthcoming album, Faith in the Future, with anthemic pop single, “Bigger Than Me.” The track was written by Tomlinson, Rob Harvey, and Red Triangle, and produced by Mike Crossey. On Friday, the former One Direction singer shared the video for his new single.

“It was my first moment of excitement making this record, and where it felt we were on to something which honors the live show,” Tomlinson said in a statement. “I’ve always strived to be a very normal, humble person in this life, but there’s a line to that and a responsibility that comes from being in this position. I realized from doing those live shows what it means to my fans and how everything I do is bigger than me. It’s almost a coming of age for myself and putting opinions about myself to the back of my mind and thinking about what it potentially means for other people.”

Faith in the Future, which arrives Nov. 11 and is available for preorder, marks the singer’s sophomore studio album. It features production and songwriting from a vast list of collaborators, including Rob Harvey, Dan Grech, Nico Rebscher, Joe Cross, and Hurts frontman Theo Hutchcraft.

“After living with this album for a while I can’t wait for you all to hear it,” the former One Direction member wrote on Twitter. “Thank you for allowing me to make the music I want to make.”

He also shared the cover art and the 14-song tracklist. According to the preorder link, the album will arrive both on vinyl and CD, and a Record Store Day exclusive limited edition vinyl features “black & red splatter.” Another RSD edition features a deluxe CD Zine and includes two more songs (“Holding Onto Heartache” and “Headline”).

Faith in the Future follows his debut solo album, Walls, which arrived in 2020. “A lot of people, when they’re first starting out, they develop in the background, trying different things,” Tomlinson told IndieLand of his first solo effort after One Direction. “But obviously, I had to do that a little bit more publicly. That’s been definitely been challenging at times. So I’m relieved to have an album that I’m really proud of.”

Faith in the Future Tracklist

1. “The Greatest”
2. “Written All Over Your Face”
3. “Bigger Than Me”
4. “Lucky Again”
5. “Face the Music”
6. “Chicago”
7. “Common People”
8. “Out of My System”
9. “Angels Fly”
10. “Saturdays”
11. “Silver Tongues”
12. “She Is Beauty We Are World Class”
13. “All This Time”
14. “That’s the Way Love Goes”

Comments Off on Louis Tomlinson Evokes His Live Shows on Anthemic New Single ‘Bigger Than Me’