Indie News

OCTOPLOID (AMORPHIS) Recruits SWALLOW THE SUN’s Vocalist For New Single


Octoploid – the band headed up by bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine (Amorphis, Barren Earth, Mannhai) – is now streaming their new single “The Dawns In Nothingness” featuring Swallow The Sun vocalist Mikko Kotamäki. Of course it’s depressingly heavy, but you should experience it for yourself anyway.

“This track is an unlikely marriage between black and death metal, rock, and medieval monk chants, rounded out by Swallow The Sun vocalist Mikko Kotamäki,” said Laine. “Even though the texts are very personal, the gloomy lyricism is not always to be taken literally. That’s just a part of the classic doom metal ethos in its finest!”

Beyond The Aeons is out July 5. The album was crafted at E-Studio in Sipoo, Finland where Petri Majuri (Hanoi Rocks, Michael Monroe) took care of mixing the eight tracks and David Castillo (Katatonia, Leprous, Opeth) mastered the album. Orion Landau (Carcass, Yob, Russian Circles) gave Beyond The Aeons all cover art, and you can pre-order it right here.

[embedded content]

Want More Metal? Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter

Enter your information below to get a daily update with all of our headlines and receive The Orchard Metal newsletter.

Comments Off on OCTOPLOID (AMORPHIS) Recruits SWALLOW THE SUN’s Vocalist For New Single